Keep up with Armagh i

Three councillors elected in Portadown as Independent David Jones looks set to miss out

The DUP have taken the first two seats in the Portadown DEA.

Darryn Causby and Sydney Anderson fulfilled their first preference vote quota, which was set at 1,604, with the former a clear poll topper with just over 2,000 votes.

Sinn Fein’s Paul Duffy is also returned with 1,675 first preference votes, just 21 shy of the new Councillor Anderson.

The Ulster Unionist’s Julie Flaherty performed well with 1,512 and should be elected on the next count.

Lavelle McIlwrath gathered an impressive 866, which should see him be as the second new face for the DUP in Portadown – giving the likelihood of transfers.

Independent councillor David Jones could be set to miss out having collected just 266 votes – the second lowest tally – behind UKIP’s David Jameson.

Arnold Hatch is another sitting councillor that could be sweating on a return to Council but the next few hours will tell a tale, as transferred votes become crucial at this stage.

Follow our live blog here for all the latest as it happens.

Anderson, Sydney DUP 1696 (Elected)

Causby, Darryn 2077 DUP 2077 (Elected)

Duffy, Paul Sinn Fein 1675 (Elected)

Flaherty, Julie Ulster Unionist 1512

Foster, Darrin Traditional Unionist Voice 547

Hatch, Arnold Ulster Unionist 506

Hutchinson, Emma Alliance Party 570

Jameson, David UKIP 149

Jones, David Independent 266

McIlwrath, Lavelle DUP 866

McNeill, Eamonn SDLP 967

O’Dufaigh, Callum Sinn Fein 392

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Portadown