Keep up with Armagh i

Cold Weather Payments extended to additional postcode areas

Cold Weather Payments have been extended to 11 more postcode areas as temperatures remain at freezing point and below in some areas.

This follows the trigger last week of Cold Weather Payments for eight postcodes in the Katesbridge weather station area: BT24, BT25, BT26 and BT30, BT31, BT32, BT33 and BT34.

The Met Office notifies the Department for Communities when the trigger for Cold Weather Payments has been reached, that is when the average temperature is, or is forecast to be, zero degrees centigrade or below over seven consecutive days.

Only those qualifying customers living in these postcode areas will receive the £25 payment. The payments will be made automatically and there is no need to make a claim.

Customers in Castlederg and Thomastown postcode areas can expect to receive their payment by Wednesday 21 December 2022.

The additional payments will be made automatically to eligible people in the following postcodes: Castlederg weather station postcode areas: BT78, BT79, BT81, BT82, and

Thomastown weather station postcode areas: BT74, BT75, BT76, BT77, BT92, BT93 and BT94.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Armagh