Keep up with Armagh i

In Pictures: Community champions crowned at council awards

There were congratulations and celebrations all round at the Community Awards 2021/22 when ABC Council rolled out the red carpet at the City Hotel on Tuesday night to host a glittering ceremony to recognise and reward the best of the borough’s community champions.

A total of 34 groups and individuals from across the borough were shortlisted for the 11 award categories in the awards, which are funded by The Executive Office, with each receiving high praise from councillors and their community peers for their leading example of good citizenship and selfless dedication to better community causes and bring significant benefits and deliver positive outcomes for people from all backgrounds.

Speaking at the awards, Lord Mayor Alderman Glenn Barr praised the exceptional endeavours of all those receiving a nomination: “It’s a great honour to join with those in our community who have strived to create a better life for those they come into contact with. These remarkable citizens have proven to us all what can be achieved to benefit others, which is remarkable given the difficult times the past 24 months have presented.

“Our Community Awards, which celebrate the spirit of volunteering in the borough, offer us the opportunity to show our gratitude for all the hard work these extraordinary people have undertaken and highlights the commitment each and every one of them has presented whilst bringing positive change and instilling civic pride.

“Each nominee has presented a positive ‘can-do’ contribution to our society, helping to achieve versatile and vibrant connected communities who endeavour to work together for the good of all.

“Our community champions are the pride of the borough and a shining example on how we can accomplish great things for the benefit of others. I for one am extremely proud of your achievements, strengthening social connections, building more cohesive communities and greatly enhancing civic engagement.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for everything you have done and continue to do for others across the Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough and for all our sponsors for generously giving their support.”

Ahead of the award announcements each nominee was given the VIP treatment with a delicious banquet and superb musical entertainment courtesy of local folk sensations Stonewall before MC for the evening, TV and radio presenter Siobhan McGarry got things underway with the announcements of the winners in each category.

The award winners were as follows:

YMCA Portadown (Youth Champion Award Joint Winners)

Wah Hep (Equality and Good Relations Joint Award Winners)

Tynan Development Committee ( Eco Award Winners)

TADA Rural Network Equality and Good Relations Joint Award Winners

Lorcan Lavery (U18 Youth Volunteer Award Winner) 2

Keady First Responders (Community Safety Award Winners)

Keady Men’s Shed (Health and Wellbeing Award Winner)

IncredABLE (Innovation Award Winners)

Gordon Blevins (Lifetime Achiever Award Winner)

Armagh Child Contact Centre Volunteers (Step Up and Stand Out Award Winners)

Amy McCrickard (Volunteer of the Year Award Winner)

Aghavilly Youth Club (Youth Champion Award Joint Winners)

60+ Luncheon Club (Age Friendly Award Winners)


Each award winner was presented with a beautiful bespoke award designed by renowned ceramicist Ciara Campbell.

All shortlisted nominees received a framed certificate in recognition of their outstanding service to the community.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Armagh