Keep up with Armagh i

List of Co Armagh schools to share in £60m investment fund revealed

Several Co Armagh schools will share in a £60 million investment fund, it has been announced.

Permanent Secretary, Derek Baker, revealed that 25 schools have been successful in the second call of the School Enhancement Programme.

The School Enhancement Programme was first established in June 2012 and provides financial support for capital projects valued at between £500,000 and £4million.

The second call for projects opened in January 2017 and encouraged applications addressing immediate and pressing accommodation needs in schools.

Permanent Secretary, Derek Baker said: “The purpose of the School Enhancement Programme is to ensure that we provide the best possible education estate for our children and young people, within the budget that is available.

“With this in mind I have given approval to progress the first 25 projects through the business case, design and planning stages.

“These projects will attract a potential £60million investment which will help to improve and expand the existing facilities in the schools.”

He added: “Today’s announcement represents a first tranche of projects to be progressed from this call with the potential for further schools to be approved in the future. This is good news for the pupils, staff and wider communities of the schools.”

The schools proceeding are:

Primary schools

Carniny PS, Ballymena
Chapel Road PS, Londonderry
Greenhaw PS, Londonderry
Holy Rosary PS, Belfast
Killyleagh Controlled Integrated PS
Lurgan Model PS
Our Lady of Lourdes PS, Belfast
Presentation PS, Portadown
St John’s PS, Coalisland
St Mary’s PS Jerrettspass, Newry
St Mary’s PS, Strabane
St Patrick’s PS, Crossmaglen

Post-Primary schools

Coleraine GS
Lurgan College
St Joseph’s GS, Donaghmore
St Kevin’s College, Lisnaskea
St Malachy’s College, Belfast
St Patrick’s GS, Armagh

Special schools

Beechlawn School, Hillsborough
Knockevin Special School, Downpatrick
Longstone School, Dundonald
Roddensvale School, Larne
Sandelford Special School, Coleraine
Sperrinview Special School, Dungannon
Thornfield House School, Newtownabbey

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Armagh