Keep up with Armagh i

No Armagh players on Kernan’s Ulster team

Ulster manager Joe Kernan has named his squad for Sunday’s Inter-provincial semi-final against Leinster in Navan – without a single Armagh player.

However, Kernan did intend to select Armagh trio Kevin Dyas, Ciaran McKeever and Jamie Clarke in his squad for Sunday’s game at Navan.

“But I was then told that they had been asked not to join us (by the Armagh management),” Kernan told BBC Sport NI.

“It’s a pity but there’s nothing we can do about it.”

Armagh are managed by Paul Grimley, who was then manager Kernan’s assistant when the Orchard County earned the county’s one and only All-Ireland Senior Football title in 2002.

However, Grimley quit Kernan’s backroom team in 2006 a year before Kernan stepped down from the Armagh job.

Armagh have earned only one point from their opening two Football League Division 2 games and the county’s management, which now also includes Kieran McGeeney, appear to believe that the Interprovincial competition would represent an unnecessary distraction at this stage.

Full Squad:

An Cabhán (4):
David Givney, Eugene Keating, Rory Dunne & Cian Mackey
Doire (3):
Chrissy McKaigue, James Kielt & Sean Leo McGoldrick
Dún na nGall (5):
Neil McGee, Eamonn McGee, Karl Lacey, Mark McHugh & Michael Murphy
An Dún (2):
Mark Poland & Kevin McKernan
Fear Manach (3):
Ryan McCluskey, Eoin Donnelly & Ryan Jones
Muineachán (4):
Rory Beggan, Colin Walshe, Conor McManus & Kieran Hughes
Tír Eoghain (7):
Peter Harte, Sean Cavanagh, Niall Morgan, Conor Clarke, Colm Cavanagh, Matthew Donnelly & Darren McCurry

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in GAA