Keep up with Armagh i

Armagh name starting 15 to play Wicklow in All-Ireland Qualifier

Kieran McGeeney has named his starting 15 to take on Wicklow tomorrow afternoon at the Athletic Grounds.

Armagh will be hoping to bounce back from their Ulster Championship defeat to Donegal just under two weeks ago.

There are two changes to the side that lost by 10 points to the reigning Ulster Champions with Cullyhanna’s Michael Murray and Sean Connell both coming in the corner back slots for Stefan Campbell and Finnian Moriarty.

As a result Andy Mallon moves out to half-back.

Speaking in the irish Independent earlier this week, Armagh All-Ireland winner Oisin McConville, said: “When Armagh turned up at the weekend I expected the best-prepared Armagh team in six or seven years and physically they probably were.

“It’s almost like we were so wrapped up in what we had to do to beat Donegal – tactics, the white board, video analysis – it’s almost as if we forgot to play. You could see it from the opening minute; basic errors.

“The other side of the coin is the players have to take a lot of the flak for what went on. It’s one thing managing but when you send players out there you have to perform. That was the one thing that let Armagh down, they went out and they weren’t able to perform for whatever reason.”

He added: “Maybe we shouldn’t be challenging the likes of Donegal at this moment in time.

“Maybe there’s more work to be done.”


​1 Matthew McNeice Maitiú Mac Naois Eanach Mór
2​ Michael Murray Mícheál Ó Muirí Naomh Pádraig
​3 Charlie Vernon Cathal Mac Mhearnáin Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
​4 Sean Connell Seán Ó Conaill Naomh Pádraig
​5 Andy Mallon Aindriú Ó Mealláin Na Pairnéil
​6 Ciaran McKeever Ciarán Mac Íomhair Naomh Olibhéar Pluincéad
​7 James Morgan Séamus Ó Muireagáin An Chrois Bhán
​8 Caolan Rafferty Caolán Ó Raifeartaigh An Ghráinseach Mhór
​9 Ethan Rafferty Éatán Ó Raifeartaigh An Ghráinseach
​10 Aidan Forker Aodhán Mac Fearchair Machaire
​11 Miceal McKenna Mícheál Mac Cionnaoith An Ghráinseach
​12 Tony Kernan Antaine Mac Thiarnáin Raonaithe na Croise
​13 Stefan Campbell Stiofán Mac Cathmhaoil Clann na nGael
​14 Andrew Murnin Aindriú Ó Murnáin Naomh Pól
​15 Jamie Clarke Séimí Ó Cléirigh Raonaithe na Croise

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in GAA