Keep up with Armagh i

Armagh make host of change to face St Mary’s in McKenna Cup

Armagh will play their final group match in this season’s Dr McKenna Cup with many fresh faces on the field.

Manager, Kieran McGeeney, has decided to rest eleven of the players who helped Armagh overcome Antrim last Sunday.

A comfortable win for Armagh could see them progress to the semi-finals as best runners-up but can also still top the group if Antrim pull off a shock result against Tyrone.

Tim Harney will step in as goalkeeper, so far in the tournament Armagh have started with a different keeper in each match. In defence, Eoin McArdle and James Donnelly will line up alongside Brendan Donaghy.

Captain, Ciaran McKeever, will return from his one match suspension and will be joined in the half back line by Cullyhanna’s Sean Connell and the experienced Charlie Vernon.

There will be a new look midfield duo, as Declan McKenna will partner Stephen Harrold, McKenna will want to make the most of this opportunity, the talented and versatile midfielder captained Armagh minors to the All-Ireland title in 2009, but hasn’t been given many chances at senior level.

Just the one change in the half forward line, Tony Kernan will come in for Micheal McKenna, who gets a well-deserved rest after two impressive performances in the opening games.

Gavin McParland will get his second start in the tournament and Stephen Sheridan will start wearing the number 14 jersey. Annaghmore’s Oisín Mac Íomhair keeps his place after a strong showing on Sunday.

The game is being aired live on Armagh TV. Throw-in from 8pm. You can also follow our live updates on Twitter

1 Tim Harney Na Piarsaigh Óga
2 Eoin McArdle Coilleach Eanach
3 Brendan Donaghy An Chluain Mhór
4 James Donnelly Cill Shléibhe
5 Sean Connell Coilleach Eanach
6 Ciaran McKeever Na Pairnéil
7 Charlie Vernon Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
8 Declan McKenna Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
9 Stephen Harold Carraig an Chrupáin
10 Stefan Forker Machaire
11 Tony Kernan Crois Mhic Lionnáin
12 Feidhlim O’Neill Naomh Pól
13 Oisín Mac Íomhair Eanach Mór
14 Stephen Sheridan Foirceal
15 Gavin McParland Baile Mhic an Aba



16 Philip McEvoy Dromainn Tí
17 Michael Murray Coilleach Eanach
18 Jamie Clarke Crois Mhic Lionnáin
19 Mark Shields An Chrois Bhán
20 Caolán Rafferty An Ghráinseach Mhór
21 Miceal McKenna An Ghráinseach
22 Seamus Kelly Béal Átha an Airgid
23 Paul Courtney Naomh Iúd
24 Niall McConville Naomh Peadar
25 Eugene McVerry An Mullach Bán
26 Paul McKenna Clann Éireann

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in GAA