Keep up with Armagh i

Borough’s four main recycling centres to reopen from 12noon on Monday

The five satellite sites at Keady, Markethill, Tandragee, Dromore and Rathfriland will follow within days

Traffic at Armagh Recycling Centre

The four main recycling centres in the borough will reopen on Monday at 12noon.

The move has been confirmed by Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council.

It comes after agreement by all parties and an announcement by the Northern Ireland Executive which preceded the first remote meeting of ABC Council on Monday night.

As Armagh I reported on Thursday, the four main centres will open initially. There are at Armagh, Banbridge, Lurgan and Portadown.

The five satellite sites within the borough, namely Keady, Markethill, Tandragee, Dromore and Rathfriland, will open within days.

The centres will open from noon on Monday and then, as outlined at the meeting, from 10am to 6pm Tuesday to Friday.

An alternative time has been set aside on Saturday for NHS staff and care workers between the hours of 8am and 12noon.

Initially also, the centres will reopen for the disposal of additional bagged household waste and organic garden waste that cannot be stored at home, at this time.

The council plans to extend the materials that can be deposited at the recycling centres and the number of sites available as and when “practicable to do so”.

Hours after we had covered the meeting, the Ulster Unionist Party in Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Councillors had inexplicably posted on social media that the recycling centres would not be opening on Monday – contrary to what Armagh I had shared on Thursday night.

This information which the party felt the need to pass on to the public was in fact totally misleading and wrong and confusing for local people – we can confirm the reopening will take place on Monday as we reported at the time.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Most read today

More in Armagh